Skip to main content


Statement On USTR Announcing And Immediately Suspending DST Tariffs On Six Countries While OECD Talks Continue

Washington, DC – IA Director, Trade Policy Jordan Haas issued the following statement on USTR’s announcement and immediate suspension of Digital Services Tax (DST) tariffs on Austria, India, Italy, Spain, Turkey, and the United Kingdom while OECD talks continue. According to USTR, tariffs would be imposed on $65 million worth of Austrian goods, $119 million worth of Indian goods, $386 million worth of Italian goods, $310 million worth of Turkish goods, and $887 million worth of British goods.

“IA appreciates USTR’s strong commitment to building a global consensus at the OECD around developing a modern, fair, and global approach to taxing in the digital age. It is critical that every government that has moved forward with DSTs roll back their discriminatory taxes, work towards a global solution, and commit to removing any DSTs once an OECD agreement is reached. The U.S. must continue sending a strong message to trading partners that DSTs are not the appropriate solution.”